SA 8000

Objectives and targets

The standard defines 9 basic topics of socially responsible management and establishes the minimum standards as a basis for their certification.

Motivation and benefits

Many companies need reliable statements and acknowledgements relating to socially responsible management as basic requirements for their international business relations. SA 8000 is a comprehensive standard for auditing and certifying these requirements, which is renowned internationally and is based on conventions and declarations of independent organizations and associations active worldwide, e.g. the UN or ILO.

The key issue of the standards is the conviction that basically all the work conditions can be aligned to the human rights recognized generally and top management is responsible for this. This means SA 8000 acknowledges the certified companies comply with the social minimum standards at the production sites.

The system of SA 8000 enables simple integration in existing management systems, such as ISO 9001, ISO 14001 or ISO 45001 : 2018. This standard is used as a basis for assessment for different Social Compliance Programmes.

Target group

Companies with international business relations.

Contents and audit procedure

The SA 8000 Standard includes the following topics:

  •   Child labour
  •   Forced labour
  •   Health and safety
  •   Freedom of association n discrimination
  •   Disciplinary measures n working hours
  •   Remuneration
  •   Management systems

In addition, it is required also to guarantee compliance with the minimum standards among the sub suppliers.

The audit will be conducted right at the respective production sites. Besides a comprehensive site visit, the employees will have to be interviewed on the production facilities without the presence of their superiors. Linguistic barriers will be overcome by availing of interpreters.


We have an agreement with LSQA – Uruguay for performing assessment as per Social Accountability Accreditation Services (SAAS)

Other Relevant Standards

ISO 9001, ISO 14001, SCC, SCP, SQAS, ISO 45001 : 2018