ISO/IEC 20000:2011


  •   Establishing an IT Service Management System in order to ensure customer of agreed IT service.
  •   Continual improvement of an IT Service Management System
  •   Demonstrate conformity with the organization’s own IT Service Management policy
  •   Having the IT Service Management System certified/registered by an external organization
  •   Determining the organization’s own IT Service Management System level and declaring conformity with ISO 20000 standard

Motivation and benefits

ISO/IEC 20000 is the first worldwide standard specifically aimed at IT Service Management. It describes an integrated set of management processes for the effective delivery of services to the business and its customers.

ISO/IEC 20000 is an IT standard that allows companies to demonstrate excellence and prove best practice in IT management. The standard ensures companies can achieve evidence-based benchmarks to continuously improve their delivery of IT services. The adoption of ISO 20000 has grown quite rapidly in the international arena of IT service providers and it has become a competitive differentiator for delivery of IT services.

ISO/IEC 20000 is increasingly seen as the quality standard for IT Service Management and many companies are striving to adopt ISO/IEC 20000, not only for their own benefit but also to help qualify and choose suppliers and partner organizations. ISO/IEC 20000 is aligned with and complementary to the process approach defined within ITIL from the Office of Government Commerce (OGC).

However, it is clearly more valuable for an organization to be independently verified as part of a formal certification scheme.

The standard uses the same approach as management system standards such as ISO 9001 and ISO 27001, including the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) cycle for continual service improvement.

An organization certified to ISO 20000 enjoys higher confidence among customers. Elements of ISO 20001 can be combined to a comprehensive management system with those of ISO 9001 and ISO 27001.


  •   Enhance IT Service
  •   Improve Confidence in customers
  •   Ensure Business Consistency
  •   Improve Market Share
  •   Enhance Customer Satisfaction
  •   Control cost

Target group

  •   Software Development organizations
  •   IT Department of
    •   Banks, Insurance companies & Financial Institution
    •   Telecom Industry
    •   Manufacturing and service industry
    •   Public Sector Units
    •   Government organizations


The Management System ISO 20000 includes requirements for IT Service Management System which help the organizations to manage their IT Service and improve their performance.

The IT Service Management System ISO 20000 can be applied by any organization, which is providing IT service. All requirements stated in the present ISO 20000 standards are intended to be taken over to an ITSM. The extent to which they are used depends on such factors as the IT Service Policy of the organization concerned, the organization’s activities, requirements of the customer and the complexity of the operations and processes.

IT Service Management (ITSM) itself is divided into two main areas: Service Support and Service Delivery. Together, these two areas consist of 10 disciplines that are responsible for the provision and management of effective IT services.

The 10 ITIL disciplines are as follows, five in the area of service support and five in the area of service delivery:

Service Support Disciplines:

  •   Configuration Management
  •   Problem Management
  •   Change Management
  •   Help Desk
  •   Software Control and Distribution

Service Delivery Disciplines:

  •   Service Level Management
  •   Capacity Management
  •   Contingency Planning
  •   Availability Management
  •   Cost Management for IT Services

An IT organization seeking certification to ISO 20000 requires complying with the above requirements.


Quality Austria is accredited for certifying organizations according to ISO /IEC 20000:2011 .

Other Relevant Standards

ISO 9001, ISO 27001.